Who We Are

Meet Our Team of Dedicated Explorers

Who We Are 2018-11-04T19:54:02+00:00

The Association for Marine Exploration is a U.S.-based 501(c)3 non-profit organization, established in 2003 in the state of Hawai’i. Our team of Directors and Advisors includes scientists, educators, and technologists with several centuries of collective experience in conducting field-based scientific research projects, as well as developing and pioneering the use of advanced diving technologies.

Board of Directors

Joseph Dituri, PhD
Joseph Dituri, PhDChief Executive Officer
John Hansen
John HansenChief Financial Officer
Richard L. Pyle, PhD
Richard L. Pyle, PhDChief Technology Officer
Brian D. Greene
Brian D. GreeneDirector
Ken Longenecker, PhD
Ken Longenecker, PhDDirector
Luiz A. Rocha, PhD
Luiz A. Rocha, PhDDirector
William C. Stone, PhD
William C. Stone, PhDDirector
Jennifer WIlliams
Jennifer WIlliamsDirector

Board of Advisors

Raymond C. Boland, MS
Raymond C. Boland, MSAdvisor
Joshua M. Copus, MS
Joshua M. Copus, MSAdvisor
John L. Earle
John L. EarleAdvisor
Anthony Montgomery
Anthony MontgomeryAdvisor
Brian O'Connell, EdD
Brian O'Connell, EdDAdvisor
David F. Pence, MS
David F. Pence, MSAdvisor
Lisa A. Privitera, PhD
Lisa A. Privitera, PhDAdvisor
John E. Randall, PhD
John E. Randall, PhDAdvisor
Robert K. Whitton
Robert K. WhittonAdvisor
Brian Zgliczynski, MS
Brian Zgliczynski, MSAdvisor


Cara M. Pyle
Cara M. PyleCollaborator
Richard Coleman
Richard ColemanCollaborator
Garrett Johnson
Garrett JohnsonCollaborator

Hall of Fame

Amy Entress
Amy EntressFounding Director
John Rooney, PhD
John Rooney, PhDFounding Director
Sonia J. Rowley, PhD
Sonia J. Rowley, PhDChief Science Officer